Rev Dr John Murray (d. March 1861)
Murray Lounge

Rev. Dr. John Murray is remembered here as the first Minister of the ‘Old Free North Church' which was erected on this site in 1844.

A prominent Scottish clergyman, whose ministry spanned significant periods of religious upheaval in the 19th century, John Murray's first charge in 1816 was to Trinity Chapel at the lower end of Shiprow. Erected in 1794 near the site of the old Trinity Convent, this building today houses The Maritime Museum. He was called to the East Church in 1824 and, on the division of the City Parish of St Nicholas in 1828, he was appointed the first Minister of the North Parish Church (now Aberdeen Arts Centre, immediately opposite this room). Murray’s most notable contribution came in 1843 during the Disruption of the Church of Scotland, when he played a key role in the formation of the Free North Church in Aberdeen, following the withdrawal from the established church. The departing congregation met for 34 weeks in the Frederick Street Congregational Chapel while this present site on the corner of Queen Street and West North street was secured. On 22nd January 1844, Dr Murray presided at the opening of the Free North Church building and his ministry guided his congregation through this turbulent period in Scottish church history. Murray died in March 1861.

The premises of the 'Old Free North Church' existed on this site (a painting hangs in The Cruden Hall downstairs) until they were demolished in the early years of the 20th century and replaced by this current building opened on 1st September 1905.